Portrait & Lighting Class (Aspect Images)

Ashleigh V © Dave Cracknell 2011

Had a great day today taking some photographers through the Do’s & Don’ts of Portrait Photography. Which lens to use when, should you use a flash? What sort of accessories to use and when to use them. All in all I think everyone got something out of today. I learnt some things too, which is no surprise as I always try to push the envelope and try new techniques but only after I have the “safe shots” in the bag.

We had a model to help us out today by the name of Ashleigh. She was a pleasure to work with and by the end of the class was starting to get into the swing of things. Considering that 2 days ago we didn’t have anyone to point our cameras at except for my ugly mug, Ashleigh answered the call for help and did a fantastic job trying to look at 7 cameras at the same time.

Photo was taken with my canon 7D with the canon 15-85 IS lens, AV Mode, 1/6oth Sec @ f9.o and 200 ISO. No flash. Just a few tweeks in Lightroom and Photosop and its done.

More images from the shoot and behind the scene photos will be posted on my Facebook page later today and more images of Ashleigh will go up soon after. Until then…

Happy Shooting