Photo Tip of the day.

Today’s Photo Tip (#183)

I had to laugh today at one of my clients attitude towards professional photographers. She firmly believes that professional photographers are just rip offs. Her solution is to go and buy a cheap Digital SLR and go shoot the same photos for next to nothing. While her plan has merit if she was painting her bedroom instead of paying for a painter. Nothing against professional painters, no nasty emails please. If you take care and prepare properly the end result is not too far away from what the professional will deliver, in looks. But buying a DSLR and taking photos is not the same as the results I expect from a professional photographer at least from the good ones I know.

Last time I checked I have lenses specifically for portraits, lighting equipment galore. Backdrops, tripods, releases, clamps, flash modifiers, flags, reflectors and flash triggers. I’ve practiced for years to get my lighting the way I like, I’ve read countless books on other people’s techniques. I’ve studied the works of photographers that I look up to and reversed engineered their lighting systems. With all this behind me do I think I could take photos like Joe McNally. Possibly, maybe come close. Can I think like him? No. Can I be as inventive as Joe? No, because I’m not Joe McNally. So how can someone think that just by buying a DSLR automatically turns then into a sensational photographer overnight.

I’m quite sure the likes of Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup could drive pretty fast the first time they got behind the wheel of a race car. Over time with the help of their pit crews, managers and engineers they both became Australian V8 Supercar Champions. Owning a Holden Clubsport doesn’t turn you into a Craig Lowndes. Some teenagers may disagree with me there. So buying an entry level camera just means you are a beginner, on the road to becoming a photographer. Becoming world class takes time, effort, practice and heaps of mistakes. Take the time to learn, savour the good photos you take along the way. Enjoy the hobby side of photography before jumping into the mean world of Professional Photography.

Happy Shooting

